The dirt on high fructose corn syrup

High Fructose Corn Syrup

HFCS: the evil sugar

Like most horror stories about environmental or nutritional bogeymen, I half-listen and just try to veer toward natural products and food–emphasis on “try” and, let’s be honest, not all that hard actually. It’s A LOT of work. But, when someone does all the work for me and presents a compelling and clear argument, I listen. Of course, I listen. I’m not willfully ignorant, just tired.

So, thanks to the folks at momlogic.com, for doing the legwork on high fructose corn syrup. I mean, we did switch our tonic to one that didn’t include hfcs, after all. See how committed to healthy living I am? Check this out:

http://www.momlogic.com/2010/11/the_truth_about_high_fructose.php.

About Mfree

I believe: -that the world is at least as safe today as at any other time in history -that we suffocate and cripple our children when we overprotect them -that the best protection we can ever provide our children is to teach them how to think for themselves -that kids don't need snacks every 12 minutes -that kids should be able to ride across town in a car without a dvd playing -that if we spend too much time worrying about imagined dangers, we may just miss the real dangers -that kids are astonishingly forgiving -that kids are not the boss of me
This entry was posted in parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The dirt on high fructose corn syrup

  1. Anne Tinklenberg says:

    Another thought on the HFCS thing. I just asked my friend Holly who is a nutrition researcher at the University of Minnesota about this issue a few wees ago. She said that there really isn’t a lot of good science behind the concerns. I wouldn’t say that she thinks we should HFCS to our kids by the spoonful, but she didn’t see it as significantly worse than sugar. She reiterated that “in all things moderation is the key.”

Leave a Reply

